Skip to content

Steering Committee

Members of the research and advocacy communities with valued expertise provide strategic direction for CBCRP's Program Initiatives.

The Steering Committee is composed of members of the research and advocacy communities. Steering Committee members provide detailed input and make recommendations throughout the process to refine and prioritize research questions and topics and develop blueprint concept papers. The Steering Committee is a small group that meets several times a year to advise on the overall strategy, provide detailed input, and make consensus recommendations to the Council. Steering Committee members are primarily from outside of California and therefore ineligible for CBCRP research funding.

Name Title and Affiliation
Marion H.E. Kavanaugh-Lynch, MD, MPH Director, CBCRP, UC Office of the President
Susan Braun CEO, The V Foundation
Julia G. Brody, PhD Executive Director and Senior Scientist, Silent Sprint Institute
Ross Brownson, PhD Bernard Becker Professor of Public Health; Director, Prevention Research Center; Washington University in St. Louis Brown School and School of Medicine
Sarah Gehlert, MA, MSW, PhD Dean; Distinguished Professor, University of South Carolina, College of Social Work
Jeanne Mandelblatt, MD, MPH Associate Director for Population Sciences at the Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center; Director of the Division of Health Outcomes and Health Behaviors in the Department of Oncology; Professor of Oncology and Medicine, Georgetown University
Shyrea Thompson Founder and Principal, IRIS
David R. Williams, PhD Florence and Laura Norman Professor of Public Health and Professor of African and African American Studies, Harvard University
Lori L. Wilson, MD, FACS Chief, Surgical Oncology, Howard University Hospital